8 New Private Universities Gets Approved By Nigerian Govt

The disclosure was made by the Minister of State for Education, Professor Anthony Anwuka, while briefing State House correspondents, at FEC meeting, which was presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The universities were ratified on the recommendation of the National Universities Commission (NUC) and were also given three years ‘provisional license’.

Anwuka also stated that the approval was to ensure that the teeming population of Nigerian students seeking admission into universities are given the opportunity to do so.

READ THIS, INCASE YOU MISSED:   FUOYE 2016/17 Admission Screening Form

Here are the new private universities and their mentors:

1.) Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos (promoted by the Deeper Christian Life Ministry, to be mentored by University of Lagos).

2.) Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, Cross River State (promoted by The Clitter House Nigeria Limited, to be mentored by University of Calabar).

3.) Clifford University, Owerrinta, Abia State (promoted by the Seventh Day Adventist Church, to be mentored by University of Agriculture, Umudike, Umuahia).

4.) Coal City University, Enugu (promoted by African Thinkers Community of Inquiry College of Education, Enugu – to be mentored by University of Nigeria, Nsukka).

5.) Crown-Hill University, Eiyenkorin, Kwara (promoted by Modern Morgy and Sons Limited, to be mentored by a University of Ilorin).

6.) Dominican University, Ibadan (promoted by the Order of Preachers, Nigerian Dominican Community).

7.) Kola Daisi University, Ibadan (promoted by Kola Daisi Foundation, to be mentored by University of Ibadan).

8.) Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State (promoted by the Good Idea Education Foundation, to be mentored by Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Akwa).

With this, the number of private universities in the country has increased to 69, with the total number of universities in Nigeria increasing to 151.

READ THIS, INCASE YOU MISSED:   How To Check ESUT Direct Entry Screening Result Online – 2016/17